1983 KZ440 ltd

More
01 Jul 2018 10:44 - 01 Jul 2018 12:01 #786224 by Grcko
1983 KZ440 ltd was created by Grcko
First some background. This is the first bike I have had and while I have a clue how to work on cars ,I have never done bikes before. I have replaced the wires and plugs. Carburetor has been rebuilt due to bad float gasket and float needles. Compression was 130 cold 140 hot 160 hot with oil #1 cylinder and 150 cold 150 hot and 170 hot with oil #2 cylinder.
When bike is started it is burning oil like crazy and was leaking a small amount of oil out of the exhaust where the slip-on meets the pipes. I replaced the valve stem oil seals and this helped a lot. Now when running, it runs at about 3000 rpm for a couple of minutes the nslowly drops down until it dies. Idle screw adjustment does not change idle. Adjusting air/ fuel mixture up from two turns to four or all the way down changes nothing. It also coughs out the right carb. I dropped the exhaust and ran finger inside the block. #1 was dry sooty back and #2 wet oily black.
Is the next step to take off the top end and check for piston issues? Thoughts?

As Always,

1983 KZ440
Last edit: 01 Jul 2018 12:01 by Grcko. Reason: Bad Subject Line

Please Log in or Create an account to join the conversation.

More
02 Jul 2018 19:36 #786330 by Grcko
Replied by Grcko on topic 1983 KZ440 ltd
I want to apologize for the bad subject line. I know it is really bad form not to have a specific subject. I tried to fix it but couldn't. Again my apologies.

As Always,

1983 KZ440

More
04 Jul 2018 11:53 #786409 by Grcko
Replied by Grcko on topic 1983 KZ440 ltd