Starts with a vaccum, ends with pressure

More
26 Jan 2018 11:45 - 26 Jan 2018 11:46 #777824 by PatC78KZ
Hey folks. Having a perplexing issue and hoping one of you might have a better idea than mine.

The short version is: when I start the bike, it's produces a vacuum (at the carb vacuum ports). As soon as I give it throttle, it starts producing pressure (again, at the carb vacuum ports)!!!

The longer version: I am a novice, but handy enough that my work has been effective up to this point. My bike is a 75 KZ400-D. I recently got it running after taking apart the engine to replace the gaskets. I'm pretty sure I put the engine together correctly (specifically, the camchain and cam sprocket, timing wise). While it was apart I replaced the piston rings, lapped the valves a bit (which I now know is not recommended) but not much and right to the limit of spec, greased the timing advance mechanism and replaced a nearly dead regulator/rectifier.

After that, adjusted the valves, the point, synced the carb and after riding it for a week or so, noticed smoke where it shouldn't be and learned (hopefully correctly) that I should have sealed the gasket between the header and the engine with 700 degree copper permatex rtv. Did that a few days ago and when I fire up the bike it now sounds like it should - at idle. But as soon as I give it gas, my carb sync tool shows (very mild but nonetheless) pressure instead of vacuum, which only confirmed what my very poor test ride suggested after reinstalling the tail pipes. The carbs, by the way, seem to be moving in sync.