75 kz400d Cam sprocket bolts

More
17 Aug 2017 08:01 #769151 by PatC78KZ
75 kz400d Cam sprocket bolts was created by PatC78KZ
Hi kzr. Firstly thanks for everything so far. I started riding in march, a 1975 kz400d is my first bike and the manual and this forum have helped keep it running. That and extreme patience in googling parts for it.

The oil leaking from the top end has motivated me to look inside. Got the breather cover and the cylinder head cover off. Next step is "remove cam sprocket bolts." Proving difficult. Just turning one turns the whole sprocket and chain. Jamming a ratchet on one so it can't rotate too far while going to town on the other one sends the ratchet down anyway. Smacking the end of a wrench has sheared a corner off a bolt. Putting a flame on it seems kinda dumb with all the oil everywhere. Pb blaster seems like it wouldn't do much (though I haven't tried that).

I like my bike and don't want to destroy it inadvertently. How do I keep the chain from moving or how do i loosen the bolts to remove em. If its so obvious you can only say it condescending I'm fine with that. Regards all.

Top speed 55 (I got work cut out)

Please Log in or Create an account to join the conversation.

More
17 Aug 2017 10:12 #769152 by Nessism
Replied by Nessism on topic 75 kz400d Cam sprocket bolts
Why are you trying to remove the cam sprockets? I'm not specifically familiar with the 400 engine but the other KZ engines don't need the sprockets removed to service the engine.

More
17 Aug 2017 10:27 - 17 Aug 2017 10:32 #769153 by Nerdy
Replied by Nerdy on topic 75 kz400d Cam sprocket bolts

PatC78KZ wrote: Pb blaster seems like it wouldn't do much (though I haven't tried that).
I like my bike and don't want to destroy it inadvertently.