engine no harness how to get it to work ?

• kennystclair93
  • Topic Author
  • User
More
28 Sep 2015 16:36 #692406 by kennystclair93
engine no harness how to get it to work ? was created by kennystclair93
I have a 1981 650 motor that the wire harness got burned up is there a way to run this motor without the electrical stuff ? I am new to motorcycle engines. I mostly mess with cars so any help would be greatly appreciated

Please Log in or Create an account to join the conversation.

More
28 Sep 2015 16:42 #692407 by 650ed
Replied by 650ed on topic engine no harness how to get it to work ?
No.

1977 KZ650-C1 Original Owner - Stock (with additional invisible FIAMM horn)

More
28 Sep 2015 16:43 #692409 by punisher11b
Replied by punisher11b on topic engine no harness how to get it to work ?
Bummer about the harness. Short answer, I don't think so. Your best bet will be to replace it with one off eBay or something in my opinion.

- good luck

• kennystclair93
  • Topic Author
  • User
More
28 Sep 2015 16:49 #692412 by kennystclair93
Replied by kennystclair93 on topic engine no harness how to get it to work ?
Thank you for the quick reply. I was afraid that was gonna be the awnser. Because it burned up the computer and all. Does the harness have to be from a 81 650 or will other engines or years interchange ? I just need it to run and drive. It going on another project.

More
28 Sep 2015 17:07 #692419 by 650ed
You will need to get the electrical equipment and harness that matches your engine. There are 4 different charging systems used by various KZ650 models, so things need to match or they won't operate. Ed

More
29 Sep 2015 02:12 - 29 Sep 2015 02:15 #692447 by martin_csr
Replied by martin_csr on topic engine no harness how to get it to work ?