cam chain tensioner or something else?

More
03 Apr 2015 10:44 #666398 by gwyon
In December, I bought a 1981 KZ440 LTD D3. I haven't ridden it yet. I'm new to motorcycles, so I bought the factory service manual straight away. Nevertheless, in January, I managed to do something stupid. I removed the engine so I could clean it and paint the frame. To make it easier to get the engine out, I removed the cam chain tensioner. I took the tensioner apart, cleaned it, and put it back on the engine, but I didn't release the spring because I thought I might want to take the whole thing off again when I put the engine back on the frame. And one day, with the engine on the bench and the tensioner NOT tensioning the chain, I adjusted the valves. I just completely forgot that I hadn't released the tensioner spring.