Did i f*** something up?

More
22 Mar 2015 14:48 #665245 by kz kev
Did i f*** something up? was created by kz kev
Hi everybody i just wanna say thank you to everybody on this forum for all info i have got just looking through old threads, all of you guys are so helpful and really know your kz.

This is my first motorcycle and i am far from a mechanic, i have just learned enough to do a few things that were necessary. The bike was belching black smoke and fouling plugs when i bought it so i put new dyna coils on it helped for sure but plugs still got black quickly. Forgot to say the bike is a 77 1000 ltd suposedly a 1075 it has a mac pipe with no baffle and cheap pod filters, jetting is now 17.5 pilot and 115 main. They had needle set to richest position so i raised the clip on notch and it was hard to tell much of a differance in mid range. So i checked the voltage at the coils after the new dyna 3 ohms were installed they were at about 10 volts. also i could not time both cols( cylinders 1 and 4 were advanced and 2and 3 were retarted) So i decided to buy a dyna s ignition (it had electronic but was old unknown version not a dyna). Now with the dyna module i was able to time both coils evenly. However my volts at the coils were still only 10.66. I cleaned all the connectors on the bike except the swithch pods, now i am thinking its the kill switch. So anyway i just had the bike running yesterday as good as it has since i bought it (aside from the shitty pilot circuit that needs cleaned and the occasional hard lurching and popping out of gear in second) and i rode it to the gym with no problems. Here is where it gets interesting. When i left and got ready to leave i found that the little plastic button that is pressed to start had fallen out ( it was barely in the hole anyway and was broken so bound to happen) the little spring that the button pushes in was exposed and i tried to use one of my keys to push it an start it. It sparked and tried to start for a second bu