Fuel cock

More
12 Aug 2014 10:24 #643633 by insutama
Fuel cock was created by insutama
My fuel petcock on my kz650 is kinda worn down and i cant tell what position is what i took the tank off and when its facing all the way up no fuel comes out of the valve and to the left fuel flows out and all the way down fuel flows out. I dont know if mine is broken or what but it looks like all the way up says RES but no fuel comes out when i have it in this position. Im kinda new to this all so sorry for these simple questions just wanna make sure i know how to get to res incase i run out of fuel

1978 kz650

Please Log in or Create an account to join the conversation.

More
12 Aug 2014 10:42 #643634 by 650ed
Replied by 650ed on topic Fuel cock
Please put the year and model of your bike on your signature line. That will help folks help you.

IF your bike is a 1978 KZ650, and if it has the stock petcock the petcock will have 3 positions. One position is on, one is prime, and one is reserve. The image below should be similar to the stock petcock.

Prime should be used if the bike has been sitting a while as it will allow fuel to flow to the carbs even if the engine is off.
On should be used whenever the engine is running. It allows fuel to flow when the engine is running because vacuum from a line to the #2 carb opens a diaphragm in it. When you turn off the engine the vacuum stops and the petcock stops the fuel flow.
Reserve should only be used when you run out of gas with the petcock on "on." Reserve lets the fuel remaining near the bottom of the tank flow to the carbs. Ed

Attachment 00003_2014-08-12.jpg not found

1977 KZ650-C1 Original Owner - Stock (with additional invisible FIAMM horn)
Attachments:

More
12 Aug 2014 10:46 #643637 by insutama
Replied by insutama on topic Fuel cock
Awsome so when i took tank off the fuel didnt flow when on the on position which makes sence because of vacuum but in prime and on res the fuel flowed freely is this a problem ?

1978 kz650