Compression test with only only a kickstarter? 74 KZ400D.

More
10 Aug 2014 12:56 #643340 by Nolando
I have been getting large amounts of what I assume to be blow by lately (white smoke coming from crank case vent tube and exhaust. Also I can't get my idle down once I start riding. ) I am trying to do a compression test but I only have a kick starter.

if it is in fact blow by, could that have anything to do with my wonky ass idle? It just stays at whatever RPM I'm at when I clutch in. It sounds like a stuck throttle cable but when I look in my carbs, the slides are down. I'm at a loss. Any help is appreciated.

Also, I am completely new to bikes. My whole life has been cars so this is all new to me.

Please Log in or Create an account to join the conversation.

More
11 Aug 2014 17:17 #643534 by madmatt1
You can do a compression test with the kick starter. No doubt your leg will be tired, but just keep kicking it over until the number no longer increases. The highest number you reach is your compression reading.

1977 KZ1000 LTD
1977 KZ1000A

More
11 Aug 2014 17:26 #643538 by madmatt1
Also, if you have wildly different compression readings between cylinders, it would be very hard or impossible to get your carbs synced and working properly, since you essentially have two cylinders fighting each other. Smoke is a good indicator that you have probably got at least one of the cylinders in a condition of being past the allowed clearance OR stuck piston rings, thus the engine is consuming oil via combustion. Sounds like the first order of business is to determine what's going on INSIDE the engine.

1977 KZ1000 LTD
1977 KZ1000A

More
11 Aug 2014 17:27 #643539 by 650ed
Be sure to bring the engine up to full operating temperature before doing the compression test, and remove all spark plugs during the test. Ed

1977 KZ650-C1 Original Owner - Stock (with additional invisible FIAMM horn)

More
11 Aug 2014 19:54 #643558 by LineArtist
Compression test abc's