cant go very fast

More
27 May 2014 17:31 #634211 by Janz3n
cant go very fast was created by Janz3n
Some of you may have helped me in previous threads and I now have another question.

Recently found out that the inline fuel filter that was on my bike from the previous owner was backwards and starving the engine, removed it and now the bike starts every time, idles great, and no longer dies after a long ride.

My problem now is i cant seem to accelerate very well on the highway. when im going about 90km/h ( 55mph) in 6th gear i'm at about 6000rpm and that's about as fast as i can get it. I'm new to bikes but this seems pretty slow to me but i could be wrong. Also on the highway i noticed that if i give it too much gas the engine will bog down a bit.

now my air filter at the moment appears to be a piece of foam glued in to the air box. i know this is not ideal but im trying to source out a new box and filter. the exhaust is stock so im not sure if this piece of foam may be giving the engine too much air as ive read that these engines are pretty picky and you cant usually use anything other than the stock air box and filter.

Also wondering about a possible timing issue? contact points?

fyi, bike is a 81 kz305 ltd.

81 kz305 ltd

Please Log in or Create an account to join the conversation.

More
27 May 2014 18:10 #634214 by azman857
Replied by azman857 on topic cant go very fast
Any changes made to intake and exhaust will probably result in carb re- jetting . Solve the filter problem and then tackle the any re-jetting if needed.

I don't have a plan and I'm sticken' to it! '77 KZ 650 / 750 GPz custom project in progress
The following user(s) said Thank You: PLUMMEN

More
27 May 2014 18:12 #634215 by PLUMMEN
Replied by PLUMMEN on topic cant go very fast
Have you tried a tune up?

Still recovering,some days are better than others.

More
27 May 2014 18:33 #634220 by Janz3n
Replied by Janz3n on topic cant go very fast
Plugs are new. What else would be part of a tune up?