New User and KZ440 Clutch Stuck questions

More
11 May 2014 11:09 #632116 by painthappy
New User and KZ440 Clutch Stuck questions was created by painthappy
So I picked up a KZ440 a couple years ago as a winter project. I was never in a rush as I had another bike.

I'm back onto finish my KZ project bike finally (1975 vintage), and I think I'm back to square one.

Please excuse the noobness as I'm new to working on old bikes or bikes in general. It's always been easier for me to just pay someone to do it. While I could just do that again, this time I'm determined to do it myself.

So into the issue:

The bike seems to be stuck in neutral.

Took apart both side plates of the engine, removed the chain to the rear tire, etc. I purchased new clutch plates and installed them. The lever engages the push rod, the plates move, all work well.

I put the foot shifter lever back on and when I go to shift it into gear, nothing. I just goes up or down, but no clicking into gear.

So my question is... Is it just stuck between gears (stuck somehow due to sitting)? How could I go about diagnosing this and then subsequently fixing this without removing and taking the engine apart further?

Or is she just destined to be pushed into my steel dumpster?

Thanks in advance!

Current Project: 1975 KZ400 Cafe Build

Please Log in or Create an account to join the conversation.

More
11 May 2014 12:27 #632118 by nickleo373
Replied by nickleo373 on topic New User and KZ440 Clutch Stuck questions
The KZs won't shift unless the bike is rolling. Try rolling the back tire and then pushing the gear changer if you haven't already been doing that

1981 KZ550C LTD
"If you ain't first, you're last"

More
11 May 2014 12:28 #632119 by painthappy
Replied by painthappy on topic New User and KZ440 Clutch Stuck questions
Let me hook her back up. Might be my issue. I have the chain off the rear tire. Let me give that a go.

More
11 May 2014 12:59 #632121 by 650ed