kz400 beginner

More
06 May 2014 07:16 #631494 by Airious
kz400 beginner was created by Airious
I was hoping that there would be folk here kind enough to help a complete beginner. Your own personal experience as well as links to other posts/resources will be paramount in my project :)

I picked up a kz400 some time ago that I plan on moving the engine into a dune.buggy. Originally my dad was.going.to.help me with this project but he has bailed, and I'm clue less.

My first of multiple questions is what will I need to connect to the new chassis in order to get the motor to.turn over? Ie cables/wires etc.

Looking at the.motorcycle there.are tons.of wires and I.have no idea.what ones.control what components and what are necessary and which.arent. Thank you in advance

Sean

Please Log in or Create an account to join the conversation.

More
06 May 2014 07:22 #631495 by Airious
Replied by Airious on topic kz400 beginner
A couple of pics:)
Attachments:

More
06 May 2014 07:23 #631497 by 650ed
Replied by 650ed on topic kz400 beginner
Your Dad is a very wise man. :laugh: Ed

1977 KZ650-C1 Original Owner - Stock (with additional invisible FIAMM horn)
The following user(s) said Thank You: Airious

More
06 May 2014 08:46 #631510 by Cynjut
Replied by Cynjut on topic kz400 beginner
Getting a motorcycle engine running is fairly simple, electrically. On the left side (the side in picture 2) is an alternator. This needs to go to a rectifier and voltage regulator, which is then connected to a battery. The battery needs to be connected to a set of coils. If you don't include a switch, you're "hot wired" to the coils. A switch in that power line is your "ignition" switch. The right side of the engine houses a set of points with a condenser. This wiring goes to the "trigger" side of the coils, which generate spark.