Need to use stock cylinders on bored-out cases

• newOld_kz1000
  • Topic Author
  • User
  • FlimFlamFlibbityFlee !! BoonFryedShickaMuhZee !!
More
30 Apr 2014 06:43 - 30 Apr 2014 06:45 #630897 by newOld_kz1000
Need to use stock cylinders on bored-out cases was created by newOld_kz1000
I have a bored-out for drag racing engine I'm putting back to stock, I'm returning an old Kz1000 race bike back to a daily rider. The engine was bored out so those really large piston sleeves would fit into the block.

So I have on this 1980 MkII set of stock cylinders to put on the bored-out 1980 block.
For the purpose of not having to go through the hassle of having a non-matching engine in the bike, on the title, etc. I want to use this bored-out but original-to-the-bike engine block so I can keep its engine number that goes with the frame.

Will it work? I have zero experience with bored-out 1980 Kz1000 cases. I'm pretty sure the stock cylinders will bolt up fine because (of course) the cylinder studs positions are unchanged, a stock cylinder will drop right on to the bored-out cases. I believe he told me he bored the cases out "for 88mm" whatever that means.

Should I be concerned about oil flow with the stock cylinders, crankshaft and pistons?

Or anything else?

1978 kz1000 A2 with Kerker
1980 Z1 Classic with Kerker
Last edit: 30 Apr 2014 06:45 by newOld_kz1000.

Please Log in or Create an account to join the conversation.

More
30 Apr 2014 07:19 #630902 by zed1015
There shouldn't be a problem.
The only thing to watch ( And this also applies if fitting the big block ) is if the case boring comes very close to the pry point on the cases as this results in a much reduced base gasket seating area and an increased chance of oil seepage from that region.
A light application of rtv sealant might be needed there.

AIR CORRECTOR JETS FOR VM CARBS AND ETHANOL RESISTANT VITON CHOKE PLUNGER SEAL REPLACMENT FOR ALL CLASSIC AND MODERN MOTORCYCLE CARBURETTORS