Complete novice with KZ650 Throttle/Clutch issue

More
09 Feb 2014 10:39 #621661 by JamesShijie
So I'm having some throttle issues, and as it is that I'm incredibly inexperienced in motorcycle repair, I was wondering if I could get some help. Below is a terrible video shot with my potato of a phone camera, but it gets the main points across. Basically, on my 1979 KZ650 B3, when I pull the throttle, it just revs up and stays there, and the only thing that brings it back down is pumping the clutch lever a few times. I can also fiddle around with that large screw (what is that thing? Terminology?) that goes into the middle of the carbs, either opening it up or closing it, and that changes things too, but messes up my acceleration curve. I bought this from a guy who put pod filters on it, and said he took it to a shop to have it re-jetted to what it needs to be, but I'm wary. Maybe I just need to tear into the carbs, I dunno. Thoughts?

Please Log in or Create an account to join the conversation.

More
09 Feb 2014 10:48 #621663 by 650ed
Jetting may be way off, but are you sure it is even firing on all 4 cylinders? If you pull one spark plug wire off the spark plug, is there any one that doesn't change the idle? Ed

1977 KZ650-C1 Original Owner - Stock (with additional invisible FIAMM horn)

More
09 Feb 2014 10:57 #621664 by JamesShijie
Replied by JamesShijie on topic Complete novice with KZ650 Throttle/Clutch issue
All four exhaust pipes are hot when I fire it up - I could try the spark plug thing, but I think they're all firing. If someone could help me understand the underlying cause of why this is happening, i.e. why it gets stuck revving until I push the clutch lever in, that would be awesome.

• wireman
  • User
  • The most interesting prick in the world
More
09 Feb 2014 11:24 #621665 by wireman
I cant get your video to work for whatever reason.
So ill just start with the simple questions.
Is the bike being ridden when the throttle issues are happening?