what service points to adress

More
23 Nov 2013 16:56 #613938 by e.dishong2
what service points to adress was created by e.dishong2
Short version, Bought a 1983 KZ750-N2 Spectre, Bike sat for 10+ years without running. The bike was untouched, and everything was original, all the way down to the break in caution sticker on the RPM gauge. I got the bike running the next day I had it.
Note: Im pretty good with a wrench, but I am new to bikes.

Things I have bought:
Rebuilt carb "Cheaper then rebuilding my current one"
Master cylinder rebuild kit
Air Filters
Oil filter
Fuel filter
Fuel lines
Vacuum plugs

Questions:
What after market speedometer can I get for fairly cheap that will work on my bike?
What adjustments should I make to the new carb I got?
What fluids, bushings, etc should I look over and replace, from sitting so long?
What shop manual should I get, and were to find it?

Any other advice would be great! This site is awesome, it has help me a great deal. Thanks for all the help!

Please Log in or Create an account to join the conversation.

More
23 Nov 2013 19:42 #613950 by JR
Replied by JR on topic what service points to adress
Hi e.dishong2 and welcome to the site.

Questions:
What after market speedometer can I get for fairly cheap that will work on my bike?
Sorry. Cant help with that one. Perhaps someone else can

What adjustments should I make to the new carb I got?
You use the word "carb" as in singular or one carb. The 83 spectre would have come with a rack of 4 carbs. If you have a rebuilt set then you would need to make sure they are least jetted for a Spectre and any further changes you make will depend on if you exhaust is not original or if you are using single pod air filters or the stock airbox.

What fluids, bushings, etc should I look over and replace, from sitting so long?
You should change the oil the brake fluid front and rear and rinse out the gas tank and if not rusty fill with fresh gas. Lube the cables.