Knocking sound at low idle

• phillyman2633
  • Topic Author
  • User
More
26 Jul 2013 10:57 #598372 by phillyman2633
Knocking sound at low idle was created by phillyman2633
Hey everyone, first post here.

I recently bought a 1982 KZ750N Spectre. It's my first bike and I've only had it a week, so I'm pretty new to the game.

The bike is in great cosmetic shape and seems to be pretty mechanically sound to me except for one thing. When I first start it up, there is a strange tapping sound coming from the engine. I changed the oil the day after I got it, and being as how I live in steaming hot Florida, I filled it with 20W-50. The tapping sound usually goes away after I ride for about 5 minutes or so and get the engine warmed up. This makes me think that maybe it's normal, since it doesn't happen all the time. Idle is about 1025 or so, within the 1050 plus/minus 50 prescribed in the repair manual.

Any ideas?

Democracy is nothing more than mob rule, where 51% of the people may take away the rights of the other 49% - Thomas Jefferson

Please Log in or Create an account to join the conversation.

More
26 Jul 2013 21:07 #598449 by rixtrix
Replied by rixtrix on topic Knocking sound at low idle
My guess would be the valve clearances. Maybe a little loose and as it warms and the metal expands it quiets down ?

1982 GPz1100

More
26 Jul 2013 21:44 #598455 by goodfastncheap
Replied by goodfastncheap on topic Knocking sound at low idle
What's the mileage on the engine?

1979 KZ650 B3
KZ Relay Rider #54, Iowa, Nebraska and Kansas

More
26 Jul 2013 22:07 #598459 by JR
Replied by JR on topic Knocking sound at low idle
Is the noise coming from the gearbox rather than the engine ? Put a big long screwdriver to various parts of the motor and put the handle to your ear - crude mechanics stethescope but it works.