kz550 just rebuild but wont start

More
17 Jul 2013 01:48 #596887 by rixrock
kz550 just rebuild but wont start was created by rixrock
Greetings to all,
I have been snooping around the site for about 2 weeks as I was just given an 81 kz550 that wasn't running. the old owner said it was pouring oil out of the bottom and had no compression. I am by no means a mechanic but figured with the Clymer guide I could do the work. I pulled the head, and found that the valve stems were so built up with carbon they were not seating. the pistons and the cylinders looked good so did nothing there. I lapped the valves and installed new gaskets all around. the oil gasket was missing about an inch of it . hence the oil pouring out the bottom. The cover was off on the ignition side and was completely gunked up. I cleaned it all up and got everything moving again
I expect the first questions will be.
1. do you have spark?- yes but it seems not to strong
2. do you have gas? yes in the carb and when I pull a plug it is wet with gas
3. is the kickstand up and the clutch pulled in? yes as well as the starter switch being on .

As I said I am no mechanic so please do not assume by my have having checked these items that I knew to check them in the first place. I looked at all the wisdom you all had posted and tried to track down from there where the problem might be.

Help!! summer is fleeing fast. and I just have to have some wind blowing in my face from riding down the road.

Rixrock

Please Log in or Create an account to join the conversation.

More
17 Jul 2013 08:59 #596901 by 650ed
Replied by 650ed on topic kz550 just rebuild but wont start