1998 Kz1000p Timing

More
13 Jul 2013 17:28 #596317 by GJ750
1998 Kz1000p Timing was created by GJ750
Hi guys.

Complete newbie here...

I took the timing cover, all of the timing assemble apart to polish the covers. I thought it or does it just bolt back into place, no timing required?

Is it maybe cause i didn't overhaul motor or something, means it just bolts back in orig spot and should run fine?

i will keep on searching and searching..any help would be appreciated. I will learn this stuff if its the last thing i ever do....

Attachment DSC00495.JPG not found

Attachment DSC00497.JPG not found

Attachment DSC00496.JPG not found

Attachments:

Please Log in or Create an account to join the conversation.

More
13 Jul 2013 18:04 #596322 by GJ750
Replied by GJ750 on topic 1998 Kz1000p Timing
So far I learned that it is electronic ignition. I can't find out if I need to set something or just bolt it right back inplace and ride.

its stock bike, no internal engine work this time, I probably turned the motor over after all this was removed. Its been 1 year on going project.

I wish I would have gotten the manual on it, however, to late now, I have to go out of usa in few days for long time. So I am in a bit of despair.

i really do want to learn to work on this, never thought i needed that manual.

Oh well, i have to push it back in and try to ride at least a little before i leave, blow up motor or not....Do or die at this point...lol

More
13 Jul 2013 19:25 #596332 by MFolks
Replied by MFolks on topic 1998 Kz1000p Timing
Put into your bookmarks, or favorites:

www.cyclepsycho.com/kz1000p/kz1000p.html

There's a hardened pin that other parts fit into, so if they don't go together easy, don't force them. Your mechanical advancer looks to need cleaning and lubrication. The larger false "Bolt" is designed to turn the engine over with a wrench, never use the smaller bolt, as it may break off inside the crankshaft, making for an expensive repair......

1982 GPZ1100 B2