Oil pump question -overheater

More
01 Jun 2013 08:48 - 01 Jun 2013 09:01 #590241 by lexor
Oil pump question -overheater was created by lexor
It's been awhile since I've been on here and as I don't have a garage currently my bike has just been sitting idly in a carport covered up for a year. I plan to drop the oil pan and check out the pump and screen and anything else I should do while in there.

Can anyone direct me to some good instructions for this. The bike overheats and I'm wondering if I will find the culprit today. Do I need new o-rings or gaskets to do put it back together? Any help would be greatly appreciated.if so, what's the fastest way to get them? I've searched the forum for instructions but only found references to them. I'm no expert on bikes but not afraid to try. Should I get compressed air to blow through passages or could I really screw something up? If I can't solve this overheat issue I'm going to have ro sell it and I hate to think of doing that.

Also, any KZ guys near Lexington Kentucky that may be able to either work on it or at least take a look and give me some ideas?

'80 1000 ltd

1980 KZ1000 LTD
Last edit: 01 Jun 2013 09:01 by lexor. Reason: Forgot to add Lexington ky

Please Log in or Create an account to join the conversation.

More
01 Jun 2013 09:53 - 01 Jun 2013 09:55 #590249 by Powerstroke_fan
Replied by Powerstroke_fan on topic Oil pump question -overheater