Drain Plug Replacement (Noob)

More
02 May 2013 13:25 #585282 by jsantana
Drain Plug Replacement (Noob) was created by jsantana
Hey guys,

Name's Jose and I'm new to not only the forum but also owning a motorcycle. I've managed to get my 78 KZ650c running properly. I recently changed the oil and filter but I just couldn't get the plug to tighten properly. I now have a small oil leak. I looked into my manual and found that the drain plug installed on the bike is clearly aftermarket and much longer. I went ahead and ordered a new magnetic drain plug with the exact thread pitch and length as the stock plug.

Question is, is it possible to replace the plug without actually having to entirely replace the oil? Maybe by leaning the bike over somehow? I have replaced a neutral switch before and leaning the bike worked great but not sure if that would be effective when pulling the drain plug.

Any insight is greatly appreciated.

Please Log in or Create an account to join the conversation.

More
02 May 2013 13:38 #585285 by loudhvx
Replied by loudhvx on topic Drain Plug Replacement (Noob)
Just be fast. Not much oil will come out until you actually remove the bolt, and if you have the new bolt ready, you might only lose half a pint. I mean have the new bolt in your right hand ready to go in, as you pull the other bolt out with your left hand. Once you have the new bolt lined up (without being threaded), it will stop most of the flow.
The following user(s) said Thank You: jsantana

More
02 May 2013 13:45 #585289 by jsantana
Replied by jsantana on topic Drain Plug Replacement (Noob)
Great! I figured but wanted to run it by someone. I'll give it a shot today.

Thanks!

More
03 May 2013 00:31 - 03 May 2013 00:35 #585390 by Patton
Replied by Patton on topic Drain Plug Replacement (Noob)
Hello, jsantana, and WELCOME to KZr! :cheer:

Would also use a large clean shallow catch pan underneath the bike so that escaping oil may be returned to the engine.

Good Fortune! :)

1973 Z1