Steps to determine cause of bike smoking

More
08 Nov 2012 19:16 #557537 by tmerkl
Hey guys, I just bought a 1983 Kz1000 police bike. It starts easily but smokes pretty bad. I'm totally new to the bike world and need some help figuring out what to do next. I've read that this can be caused by anything from carbs needing adjustment to valve seals to rings. What do I do first to figure this out? And second and third for that matter. It sounds good and runs smooth but just smokes so bad I could trade places with the mosquito truck...

Please Log in or Create an account to join the conversation.

More
08 Nov 2012 19:37 - 08 Nov 2012 19:37 #557539 by polarbear
Replied by polarbear on topic Steps to determine cause of bike smoking
Hello and welcome.
I am sorry, I cannot help you since my mechanic skills are limited. I will however follow this thread because my kz550 ltd also smokes from side (but it has been sitting for about 10 years and may only need to run for a while, or maybe some carb cleaner, who knows).

Lots of very knowledgeable people here, I'm sure someone competent will chime in soon. I hope you can find the problem. Good luck!
Cheers,
C
Last edit: 08 Nov 2012 19:37 by polarbear.

More
08 Nov 2012 19:37 #557540 by baldy110
Replied by baldy110 on topic Steps to determine cause of bike smoking
If it's been sitting for a while it can also smoke from stuck rings, it can be also caused by old oil. I have had a few that I get started and just run it for a bit and it clears up. I would start with changing the oil and run, see what happens.

More
08 Nov 2012 19:44 #557541 by 650ed
Replied by 650ed on topic Steps to determine cause of bike smoking
You may want to perform a leak down test. If you do a search on this site I believe you will find info on it. Ed

1977 KZ650-C1 Original Owner - Stock (with additional invisible FIAMM horn)

• wireman
  • User
  • The most interesting prick in the world
More
08 Nov 2012 20:18 #557544 by wireman