KZ750b Head Gasket

More
23 Sep 2012 15:43 - 23 Sep 2012 15:44 #550411 by kro10000
KZ750b Head Gasket was created by kro10000
Since I bought it, my bike has always had a slow oil leak where the cylinder block meets the head (on the front of the engine), the crankcase is also pressurized (you can feel strong air pulses from the oil filler cap). So I am assuming the head gasket (at least) is blown). I have a lot of mechanical experience from working on everything from old ferraris to heavy machinery, but pretty much none on motorcycles, so I am hoping to hear any advice on the subject to help make things as smooth as possible.

I have done a search and heard some info on the subject, I heard somewhere that it wasn't the headgasket that usually failed, but some sort of o ring? Besides adjusting the cam chain, I won't need to do any other adjustments when I reassemble, correct?

Before I had to quit riding it (for fear of engine damage) I was putting an average of 600 miles on it a week. So If there is anything I should do (cheaply and easily) while I have it apart to improve the reliability, I'd be interested to hear about it.

I appreciate all the help

Kelly
Lawrence, KS
Last edit: 23 Sep 2012 15:44 by kro10000.

Please Log in or Create an account to join the conversation.

More
23 Sep 2012 18:24 #550454 by Del_Herring
Replied by Del_Herring on topic KZ750b Head Gasket