KZ1100D2 Spectre leaking oil.

More
28 Aug 2012 15:30 - 28 Aug 2012 15:32 #545307 by jasonwebb
KZ1100D2 Spectre leaking oil. was created by jasonwebb
Hi all!

Just got this bike a week ago and am having a LOT of fun with it so far. Just a few problems that need addressed. Mostly it's got a fairly bad oil leak just under the top cover, I guess you'd call it a cam cover. I'm no mechanic, but I was quoted 8 hours labor to replace the gasket under this cover. They said I'd have to break cam chains and all kinds of stuff. I've changed valve cover gaskets many many times in my old Nova SS and it takes about 20 minutes total. Is this something I can do myself, or should I take it to a bike shop?

Also, it looks like Z1 only sells the gasket I need as part of a set. I'd really rather not tear into the whole top end if there's just one gasket that needs replaced. Anybody know the correct part number I'll need?

'83 Kawasaki KZ1100 Spectre
'74 Yamaha TX500a
Attachments:
Last edit: 28 Aug 2012 15:32 by jasonwebb. Reason: Fixed pics

Please Log in or Create an account to join the conversation.

More
28 Aug 2012 15:36 #545308 by Del_Herring
Replied by Del_Herring on topic KZ1100D2 Spectre leaking oil.
Maybe they thought you meant the head gasket??? Still probably wouldn't be 8 hours, and you still wouldn't need to break the chain for that, they either misunderstood or thought you were a sucker. I don't quite know how long it'll take, I'm inclined to say a little more than 20 minutes to do right, but it's not a big deal. Might try calling Z1 as well. A lot of times they're able to get things that aren't necesarily listed on their site, so if you tell them what you need they can probably get it for you.

1983 KZ750-N2 Spectre

More
28 Aug 2012 15:51 #545315 by jasonwebb
Replied by jasonwebb on topic KZ1100D2 Spectre leaking oil.