Intake Leak

More
05 Aug 2012 21:25 #540897 by Jaimemarie
Intake Leak was created by Jaimemarie
Hi My name is Jaime. I am going to school for my motorcycle tech certification and I am an intern at a Motorcycle Repair shop in Los Angeles. Because i am an intern, keep in mind, i have no money, so at this time i am looking for a solution where i can find the things i need either dirt cheep, or lying around at the shop i work at.
My 1981 kz440 belt drive has a bad intake leak at the intake boots where it meets the carbs. For a while i was just gunking it with silicone from the dollar store which was messy but would seal it up for a few days until eventually the hot cold cycle would be too much and one day i would start it and it was back.
When it comes back the bike hiccups horrible through the carbs and will take forever to warm up, will die with throttle until it gets driven a bit and is hot, and it lurches in first and second gears, hangs when i pull in the clutch etc. It is unsafe to drive when the leak comes back.
i recently cleaned off all of the silicon, pulled the carbs and the boots and the boots are not cracking, in fact they look pretty good. i used some high temp gasket sealant between the boots and the engine and when i started it, it was just as bad, if not worse.
so i put more on around the boots, a few ugly grey layers. The leak wasnt completely gone, when i sprayed carb cleaner it still hung up a little especially on the right cylinder, but it had stopped the popping and the hanging etc.
that was about two weeks ago, and i thought the high temp gasket sealant would last longer but it managed to break through again.
So what i am asking is, is there a better longer lasting way to seal up this leak?
As i said, the boots look like they are decent and the aftermarket boots are like 65 bucks, which i just cant afford, unless i dont want to eat for a week or two.