New coils and getting shocked!!

More
24 Jun 2012 04:06 #531381 by bobski911
New coils and getting shocked!! was created by bobski911
Hi guys, love this site and visit it all the time, so thanks for all the help.

I have a 83 kz750f1 that I've been working on for a few years. Just had valves done and new rings put in a month ago but I still have one problem that has not resolved. The issue is whenever I ride for about 15-20 mins, and the engine is hot, the bike starts to run very rough. Almost to the point of stalling. I've synced the carbs and adjusted the fuel height and still the same problem. It is actually tough to sync the carbs because as the engine gets hotter it drastically changes the vacuum in the cabs.

Today I replaced my stock coils with dyna 3 ohm coils I bought off a friend. I replaced them because I have a Dyna S ignition system. Now when ever I touch the spark plug boots I get a big shock. I just replaced the wires at the end of last season with dyna wires, so I dont think it would be the wires.

Any ideas where I should look for a electrical problem? Do you think this electrical problem is why my engine runs so rough when hot. I live in Canada and its not even hot here yet :(

Thank

Please Log in or Create an account to join the conversation.

More
24 Jun 2012 09:04 - 24 Jun 2012 09:14 #531404 by Patton
Replied by Patton on topic New coils and getting shocked!!

bobski911 wrote: Hi guys, love this site and visit it all the time, so thanks for all the help.