Starter short circuit?

More
21 Jun 2012 03:27 #530688 by staniel
Starter short circuit? was created by staniel
I'm not a talented electrician, but I know more than nothing. I told myself that I wouldn't post here until I had a relatively definitive description of what was going on, and I was sure I couldn't figure it out myself. Well, after a great deal of poking around with a multimeter and uninstalling and reinstalling my starter, I've hit the wall.

I just rebuilt my KZ750L3 from freshly painted frame up. Everything is in place, and I have everything as plugged in as I can figure out. I even have the brown wire connected to the brown wire inside the headlight case.

I turn the key, and the dash lights come on. I pull in the clutch, because that switch matters, and hit the start button. The solenoid clicks, and the starter doesn't even think about turning.

I pulled the starter and wired it straight to the battery. In doing so I fried a few spare wires. Some of the time the starter turned, but most of the time I got an arc and a really hot wire. I pulled apart the starter and everything passed the tests in my Clymer manual. The only one close was the brush-to-positive terminal bolt, where my resistance reading was a very low, non-zero number.

But anyway, the thing turned some of the times I had it wired directly to the battery. Maybe the times it didn't spin was because I did something wrong?

The last time I installed the starter, I checked the voltage from ground to the starter lead on the solenoid. With the key in "on" I showed about .4 volts. With the key "on" and the start switch depressed, I showed 6 volts, and heard a new squeal. This sounds like a short, right?

But where would that short be? What could possibly be shorting out in that small series of wires? I do get the feeling that the whole bike is wired through the solenoid, but I.. don't really understand what's going on.

Could sure use some KZR wisdom!

Cheers in advance!