Orientation of the flywheel (rotor). HELP ME.

• Hatchet
  • Topic Author
  • User
  • It's better in the wind.
More
11 Jun 2012 17:10 #528212 by Hatchet
Hi guys.

First of all, I am not a mechanic. In fact, I don't even pretend to know what I am doing. So please keep the mockery to a minimum. :whistle:

I've been narrowing down potential starting problems on my '83 KZ750 LTD K1, and one thing that I suspect is really amiss is the flywheel, or alternator rotor as some call it.

This got messed up when I took apart the generator side of the motor to remove the electric starter chain. When I was pulling the chain off, in my stupidity I moved the flywheel to the right a bit. Bike's never been the same since.

As of now, the rotor spins freely to the left. When turned to the right it gives resistance and makes a soft compressed air hiss sound, and it clearly is turning the engine over, despite what others have tried to tell me. I can actually see a component of the engine that moves inside the crankcase when I do this, so I know that this is causing some sort of piston movement.

Here is a picture of the area. As you can see, the flywheel has no timing marks on it, only a large hole on one side and three small divots on the other.

I know that this thing is messed up. Now, how do I go about making it right again? Where do I go from here? I'm lost without any direction.

I appreciate the patience and help in face of my idiocy. I'm learning.

Bikers are a rare breed.
Harley riders are a dime a dozen.

'83 KZ750 LTD K1. "Don't make me get the belt..."

Please Log in or Create an account to join the conversation.

• Hatchet
  • Topic Author
  • User
More
11 Jun 2012 17:19 - 11 Jun 2012 17:19 #528214 by Hatchet
Replied by Hatchet on topic Orientation of the flywheel (rotor). HELP ME.
*EDIT* My bad, there's actually two holes on opposite sides of the wheel. These are for, I guess, the rotor puller to fit onto...

I can supply more photos if needed.

Bikers are a rare breed.