Just bought an '87 KZ1000 Police bike (PROJECT!)

More
30 May 2012 11:52 #525852 by ETRANGER508
Hi Everyone; short time stalker, first time poster.

I just bought a used 1987 kz1000 Police bike with ~50k miles on it and I want to strip it down and make a cafe racer style bike out of it. I'm an engineer and have owned two other Kawasakis before, but I need lots of pointers and suggestions.

1. Headlight: I took the front faring off thinking it would be straightforward where to attach a light bucket on the front, but it's not really. Should I look for a bracket kit or find something that will mount on the existing bolt holes on the front of the bike?

2. Seat: This has a single seat and I want to replace it with a two-person seat. I don't know where to start with this one.

3. Gauges: Existing gauges are in good shape, however the tachometer bounces around alot. I'd like to remove the gauges and replace them with something a little more streamlined any suggestions?

4. Exhaust: I'd like to remove the stock mufflers and install a low profile set of pipes. This is my first carbureted bike and I know that changing the back pressure will affect compression, is there a good option for a swap out?

I'll post pics when I get off work.

Thanks!

Please Log in or Create an account to join the conversation.

• lushbaugh
  • User
  • everybodys a pro......
More
30 May 2012 13:08 #525867 by lushbaugh
Replied by lushbaugh on topic Just bought an '87 KZ1000 Police bike (PROJECT!)