Compression Ratio verses Compression test results

• tellietubbie
  • Topic Author
  • Visitor
05 May 2006 15:27 #45348 by tellietubbie
Could someone, anyone, please, explain to me the connection between compression ratio and compression test results using a compression gauge? I would be so grateful for a straight answer! I understand gas laws but can't make the connection. p.s. guess what? I'm a newbie at this game!

Please Log in or Create an account to join the conversation.

• Duck
  • User
  • e vica na i sau na ga
More
05 May 2006 15:57 #45354 by Duck
You mean how do we get 160psig with 9:1 and 14.7psi ambient?
We do work in compressing the gas and add energy to the system! Ideal gas law and kinetic theory of gasses

edited to fix link

Post edited by: Duck, at: 2006/05/05 19:01

• tellietubbie
  • Topic Author
  • Visitor
05 May 2006 16:07 #45357 by tellietubbie
Replied by tellietubbie on topic Compression Ratio verses Compression test results
Thanx for the input Duck, but I don't get it.To stupid I guess.

Post edited by: tellietubbie, at: 2006/05/05 19:09

Post edited by: tellietubbie, at: 2006/05/05 19:15:blink:

Post edited by: tellietubbie, at: 2006/05/05 19:27

More
05 May 2006 17:50 #45377 by Willo46
I picked up some info trying to figure out my rebuilt engine measuring 100-120 psi cylinder pressures.
1: The compression ratio is the ratio between the volume of the cylinder at BDC and the volume at TDC. This is fixed when the engine is built. Not too much rocket science there.
2: When measuring cylinder pressure with a gauge, as the piston comes up compressing the gas in the cylinder, the temperature of the gas increases and is trying to expand, increasing the measured pressure over and above what would be theoretically calculated based on the compression ratio and atmospheric pressure. This temperature effect supposedly increases the gas pressure to about twice the theoretical amount.