RINGING IN FIFTH GEAR AT 55 MPH +

More
17 Oct 2010 21:18 - 17 Oct 2010 21:35 #407337 by at20
RINGING IN FIFTH GEAR AT 55 MPH + was created by at20
hey guys how yall doing today. i have a lil question . i jave a kz400 that i love and im starting to put some work into but i have notice that when im out riding and get the chance to pick up speed i hear a ringing that sounds like its coming from the engine. im new at this bike thing since its my first and i dont even know where to start looking. i thought it was my keys but or maybe my headlght shaking but its not. i think i have an issue can anyone help . please remember that i only hear this in fifth gear and something else i noticed is when i hear that ringing noise i notice that i leaking oil from the left side somewhere

mind you i still cant go faster then 55mph without the bie feeling like its on its last

any help ideas or tips will gladly be appreciated

1976 kz400
Last edit: 17 Oct 2010 21:35 by at20.

Please Log in or Create an account to join the conversation.

More
17 Oct 2010 21:34 #407340 by Patton
Replied by Patton on topic RINGING IN FIFTH GEAR AT 55 MPH +
at20 wrote:

...kz400...riding and get the chance to pick up speed i hear a ringing that sounds like its coming from the engine...only hear this in fifth gear....

Has diagnosis of pinging or pre-ignition already been ruled out as possible source of the ringing sound?

It often occurs when accelerating in fifth gear.

May result from wrong spark plug, too lean mixture, incorrect ignition timing, excessive compression, low octane fuel, etc.

It's a dangerous condition than can progress to a holed or melted piston.

May remove and inspect spark plugs and notice little balls of aluminum and/or an obviously lean burn condition.

Good Fortune! :)

1973 Z1
KZ900 LTD

More
17 Oct 2010 21:38 #407341 by at20
Replied by at20 on topic RINGING IN FIFTH GEAR AT 55 MPH +