Three Questions (w/ pics)

More
15 Oct 2010 23:12 #406964 by JonZweifel
Three Questions (w/ pics) was created by JonZweifel
Ok so this is not only my first kz but also my first motorcycle. I have learned ALOTTTT since I have started this project but I still have some newb-ish questions, sorry :/.

Ok so first up is this crack.

How bad is that? its on the top of the engine on the right side of the bike if I am sitting on it. Is that crack going to make me lose compression or anything?

Next up is this piece ( the little shaft sticking out from the center of the exposed threads

There are really two questions just with this.
1. What is it? the little shaft rotates when the bike is running?
2. Im not an expert but Im pretty sure those threads shouldnt just be exposed, is there something that is supposed to be screwed on over it?

Finally, I think this filter is giving me a hard time.

Once I start the bike the filter will fill up with gas the way it is supposed to, but once the bike has sat and I come back to it, the filter is empty again. Any ideas?

Sorry if these questions are dumb or in the wrong place, and thanks for any help!

Please Log in or Create an account to join the conversation.

More
15 Oct 2010 23:34 #406965 by Mark Wing
Replied by Mark Wing on topic Three Questions (w/ pics)
Welcome to the aitr. The first one is blocking off the smog stuff and I THINK you can fix that with some JB Weld. # 2 is the tach drive and #3 your carbs are leaking a little gas when parked and the filter goes dry till your vacume petcock lets it fill with gas when the motor runs.

Mark

Jesus loves you Everyone else thinks your an ***

77 KZ650 C1 with ZX7 forks, GPZ mono rear, wider 18 police wheels and Yoshimura motor.

Yorba Linda Cal.

More
16 Oct 2010 00:05 #406966 by JonZweifel
Replied by JonZweifel on topic Three Questions (w/ pics)