Getting Started

More
17 Feb 2010 10:32 #348790 by ratdog54
Getting Started was created by ratdog54
Hello All,
I'm new to KZrider.com and looking forward to all this forum may offer. I recently bought a 79 KZ750 twin with less than 10,000 miles on it. I really love it. Just put a rebuilt starter on it and a starter clutch (which it didn't need) and I'm having a hell of a time getting it started. My bike didn't come with a owners manual so I'm not sure what I'm doing wrong. It cranks and I got it to fire for about 3 seconds yesterday. I'm not sure if I'm over-choking it or what. I had the battery check at O'reillys and they said it was good, but I only get a dozen cranks out of it before I have to charge it again. That should be enough to stat it I would think. Anyone have some pearls of wisdom for this "newbie"? Thanks.

Please Log in or Create an account to join the conversation.

More
17 Feb 2010 10:43 #348794 by MFolks
Replied by MFolks on topic Getting Started
1.Clean and tight battery connections.

2.Check the Negative(-) battery cable to the engine mounting bolt for tightness.

3.Properly gapped sparkplugs at the correct heat range(I'm guessing NGK B8ES or Denso W24ESU at .028" to .032").

4.If ignition points are in the engine,check them for worn parts/excessive gap.

5.Fresh gasoline in the tank.

6.Check/replace the sparkplug caps(they screw onto the sparkplug wires)as they fail over time.

This website might help too: www.kz750twins.com

1982 GPZ1100 B2
General Dynamics/Convair 1983-1993
GLCM BGM-109 Tomahawk, AGM-129A Advanced Cruise Missile (ACM)

More
17 Feb 2010 11:39 #348814 by bountyhunter
Replied by bountyhunter on topic Getting Started
The gas in it probably dried into varnish and plugged the carbs up.

At minimum:

1) change the spark plugs.

2) take off the fuel tank, dump ALL gas out of it and rinse with clean gas. Take the sediment cup off the petcock and clean it and the screen.