8 bent valves

More
24 Jun 2009 05:58 #301717 by wes_scooter
8 bent valves was created by wes_scooter
Hi i'm new to the fourm. i just got a 76' kz900 that has sat around for 20 years. when it was put away there was a engine problem. well i found it. 8 bent valves. also the cam chain was very tight. i'm looking to put the head together as cheaply as possible. any sugestions. also what might cause the bent valves. and the tight cam chain. i could not get it to loosen untill i removed the tower. it looks like there is a cam bearing or something smashed through the crank sprocket.

76' kz900
70' yamaha R5
2006 wr450f

Please Log in or Create an account to join the conversation.

More
24 Jun 2009 07:01 #301729 by Old Man Rock
Replied by Old Man Rock on topic 8 bent valves
Best advice is one of two ways to go about it...

Contact Larry Cavanaugh (Cavanaugh Racing heads)....;)
www.flowbenchtech.com/porting/CRH/pricing.htm

He has other options of addtional service. Valves, seals and guides are your addtional costs, not his... If nothing else, he can at least tell you if the head is toast, can be repaired etc... (Of course, you'll need to send him the head)

The man does phenominal work... Straight up guy! Did mine as well as others on the forum which he is a member of so PM him...

The other would be to obtain another head possibly availabl of one of the members here or e-bay... This approach though, you'd still need to get some work done on it... Or possibly find one already accomplished for addtional cost.

Just a thought...

OMR

1976 KZ900-A4
MTC 1075cc.
Camshafts: Kawi GPZ-1100 .375 lift
Head: P&P via Larry Cavanaugh
ZX636 suspension
MIKUNI, RS-34'S...
Kerker 4-1, 1.5" comp baffle.
Dyna-S E.I.
Earls 10 row Oil Cooler
Acewell 2802 Series Speedo/Tach
Innovate LC1 Wideband 02 AFR meter

Phoenix, Az

• oldkaws4ever
  • User
  • Have no regrets...... You only live once.
More
24 Jun 2009 10:56 #301781 by oldkaws4ever
Replied by oldkaws4ever on topic 8 bent valves