kz440 where should i start??

More
08 Jun 2009 11:31 #297315 by seanzie
kz440 where should i start?? was created by seanzie
there seem to be an absurd amount of posts on this site that cover strikingly similar issues to what i've encountered on my new bike, but i'm new to the art of motorcycle repair, and frankly i'm not sure where to begin.

i have to admit that i had very little idea of what i was getting into when i bought my dirt cheap but shiny old 1982 kz440 ltd (A3). however, i've been reading through these forums and I've downloaded 2 different repair manuals which i believe together manage to cover MOST of the eccentricities of the 81-83 models.. of course it took me weeks of puzzling over the diagrams in the factory manual to realize that these differences were numerous and also rather unimportant (unless you're trying to find a clutch cover and you get the wrong one 5 times in a row...).

My problems began when i purchased the bike. it had no battery, and the side cover was off (he said it was cracked), so i had to buy a new one. when i finally got the right one and installed it, i realized that the pickup coil and the cam on the advancer look like they've been hit with a hammer... maybe he dropped the bike and busted the timing cover smashing everything inside. anyway... i installed everything, crossed my fingers and pressed the little black button. much to my relief, the starter motor kicked on and the engine turned over. but no spark.

oh, and i forgot to mention i did a quick carb checkup before turning it over. i inspected the diaphragms and cleaned the junk out of the float bowls (this is when i noticed the tank was rusty). i also replaced the plugs.

anyways, i noticed the pickup coil was bent out of the path of the cam on the timing advancer, so i bent it back down and voila! i had spark, albeit a weak one. so i turned it over again and it started up VERY quickly.