Total NOOB needes help starting bike!

• Davestradamus
  • Topic Author
  • User
More
26 Mar 2009 10:45 - 26 Mar 2009 10:52 #275523 by Davestradamus
Total NOOB needes help starting bike! was created by Davestradamus
Hello, everyone! I picked up a '78 KZ650 yesterday and I have never ridden a motorcycle before. I have somebody to teach me how to get started riding it but i need help starting it. it ran fine when i got it and is in good shape, i just dont know how to start it! I scheduled a motorcycle safety course in May but i need to get aquainted with my bike first.

A few questions:

Where do i need to position the choke to start it cold?

And the petcock is a manual device, it has three positions, where do i need to position it to start the bike?

I flooded the heck out of it this morning. I removed the plugs and they were wet and covered in black. i cleaned them, and they have been out of the engine for hours. The guy i bought it from said not to give it any throttle at all when starting it cold because it floods easily. Guess i twisted it a bit.

i will post pics when i get home!

i am a motorcycle virgin and am excited to pop my first cherry! haha. cheers everyone!

-David
Last edit: 26 Mar 2009 10:52 by Davestradamus. Reason: forgot stuff

Please Log in or Create an account to join the conversation.

More
26 Mar 2009 10:53 #275524 by anarki650
Replied by anarki650 on topic Total NOOB needes help starting bike!
Great choice for a first bike!!! Just make sure you respect the throttle, these 650s are deceptively quick and could get away from you in a hurry if you're not gentle.