Camshaft chain question

More
25 Feb 2006 06:35 #26301 by Yarfo
Camshaft chain question was created by Yarfo
Hello everyone.

I need some help determining if my cam chain is damaged. 1983 KZ550LTD (chain drive)

***Please understand I am a newbie***

This is the story. 1yr/5 mos ago I bought the bike. took the carbs out. Cleaned them, etc, etc.
Well at the time, there was this bulky thing in the way giving trouble to remove/install the carbs. I removed it and re-installed it after the carbs were in place.
Now I find out this bulky thing is the cam chain adjuster and there's a specific order (which i didn't follow at the time due to ignorance) of loosening/ removal that needs to take place or the pushrod extends and locks and the cam chain gets damaged, per the clymer manual.
The bike starts ok and has power. The only thing is that when you first start it (until it warms up), it sound like the engine is knocking (dieseling), like if it had bad gas.
My question: Is my chain damaged. How do I find out for sure? and Is replacing it a big task?
The manual say the cases have to be split? Has anyone done it without having to split the cases?

sorry for the long post. Any help with this issue is appreciated.
Thanks,

Will.

Please Log in or Create an account to join the conversation.

More
25 Feb 2006 07:32 #26308 by steell
Replied by steell on topic Camshaft chain question
Not much chance that the cam chain is damaged, but there is a possibility that the valves are.
You need to do a compression test, and then post the numbers here.

Does it knock every time you start it, or did it do it only once?

Mistakes are how we learn :)

Post edited by: steell, at: 2006/02/25 10:33

KD9JUR

More
25 Feb 2006 09:18 #26319 by Yarfo
Replied by Yarfo on topic Camshaft chain question
Yes, it knocks everytime I start it when its cold.