Clutch housing (?) "loose"?

More
10 Oct 2008 01:58 - 10 Oct 2008 04:53 #241059 by kawaduce
Clutch housing (?) "loose"? was created by kawaduce
Hi,

First of all, I don't know all the correct technical terms in english (being a swede). When I say clutch housing I might mean clutch basket... it's the outermost one with the teeth running all the way around on its outside... :blush:
Anyway:
When I was working on putting in new friction plates and springs I noticed I was able to move the clutch housing (part no 13095-1037) sideways, all directions. I guess the play was abot 3-4 mm... My question is - is this normal, or should I worry as much as I do right now??? If it is not normal, what should I do? I might add that the innermost friction plate was broken, the others were ok (=not broken).

Hope you can help me out - I'm a decent mechanic, as long as I know what to do.. :S And I ride my kz1100 every day, so right now it is badly missed...

KZ1100B2 1982 - carb converted
Last edit: 10 Oct 2008 04:53 by kawaduce. Reason: Lack of technical terms knowledge...

Please Log in or Create an account to join the conversation.

More
10 Oct 2008 05:17 #241077 by FastKaw1
Replied by FastKaw1 on topic Clutch housing (?) "loose"?
kawaduce:
Your clutch basket should NOT move as you described.
It is ether the bearing on the shaft or you have a
broken clutch basket spring/or two. If it's the bearing
there is no easy fix, you have to split the cases.
Not hard to fix just a pain in the ---
I don't know much about the 1100 clutch basket.
Some will come out with out splitting the cases.

XENU

More
11 Oct 2008 21:50 #241372 by timebomb33
Replied by timebomb33 on topic Clutch housing (?) "loose"?