1977 KZ650 drag bike

More
06 Oct 2008 11:40 #240399 by 89LX
1977 KZ650 drag bike was created by 89LX
Hi guys. I'm a newbie, so be gentle.

I have an old KZ650B1 that was built by a local drag racer back in '78. I bought her in '80.

She's over bored 4 mm over to a 739cc. She has custom Venolia pop-up pistons, RC Engineering 400 cams, 29mm smooth bore carbs, and a RacerOne header. The original builder had ported and polished the stock head, but she still has stock valves. She was a real screamer back in the day.

Anyway, I bent a valve about 25 years ago (stock cam chain tensioner), and she's sat in the barn since.

So I've decided to resurrect her for occasional street riding, and I'm looking at a few different options here.

Now let me preface this by saying that I haven't messed with bikes in 25 years. So I am green to say the least. But I do know my way around a wrench as I have built a few car engines.

I will be doing a complete rebuild, but my question at this time is in regards to the head. On the original head, two of the exhaust studs are broken off. I tried drilling one out with a hand drill (OK, so I was was pretty dumb when I was 21). Plus the guide with the bent valve is hosed. So this head would need to be re-worked.

I've already purchased another stock KZ650 head (a '78).

Since I stared this project, I have heard that the KZ750 head was a bolt on for the '77 KZ650, true or false? Also I heard that it has 1 mm larger intake valves, 2 mm larger exhaust valves, and that the exhaust port was slightly improved. I ask because there is a local guy who has an '81 KZ750E head that I could purchase.

A GPZ head is out as the combustion chamber would not match my old Venolia pop-up pistons.

So what would be better?

1) Get the '81 KZ750 head, and port and polish it.