440 exhaust issues and loss of power

More
21 Sep 2008 06:31 #237988 by joebus
440 exhaust issues and loss of power was created by joebus
I have had the bike a couple of months but it is having some problems.

My left side of the exhaust is getting very hot very fast and also it is twice as loud as the right side. The spark plugs are black so to me that says it is running too rich but who knows.
The previous owner took off the stock the stock exhaust and made some stright pipes for the exhaust. the right side exhaust has a bolt that is broken... You can feel exhaust coming out. This is also the side that is much more quite and takes much longer to heat up. Due to how loud the exhaust was i put little 4 inch baffles in there.
Once everything is warmed up the left side(the not as loud side) back fires when i am in fifth or forth gear when i am not applying throttle.
I am also losing power in forth and fifth gear and I top out at 60mph...
I am new to the DIY on motorcycles but i want to learn. I cant tell if this is a problem in the motor or the carbs so I thought i would ask here first. Thanks for any help.

Please Log in or Create an account to join the conversation.

More
24 Sep 2008 16:24 #238507 by joebus
Replied by joebus on topic 440 exhaust issues and loss of power
No one can help me?:huh:

More
24 Sep 2008 20:00 #238543 by Patton
Replied by Patton on topic 440 exhaust issues and loss of power
joebus wrote:

... am new to the DIY on motorcycles but i want to learn. I cant tell if this is a problem in the motor or the carbs....

Likely to require testing of several components for diagnosis of various problems in both motor and carbs, and assure all settings to factory specs.

DIY'ers, whether newcomers or old pros, need a Factory Service Manual. Don't know if a FSM is available on this site for downloading, or from the membership. Could also check eBay.

In this particular case, would start with a complete tune-up.

Good Luck! :)

1973 Z1
KZ900 LTD

More