Valve shim removal

More
08 Jul 2008 20:00 #225017 by jbrewer73
Valve shim removal was created by jbrewer73
I have a 77' kz1000 that I am trying to do some valve adjustmnet on. I have the tool from Z1 and an assortment of shims. I tried to wedge the tool reccomended to hold the bucket while removing the shim. However I cannot get the shim out. Is it supposed to be a pain in the rump? I am using a pick and a magnet as reccomended. When I try and pry the shim up the tool that is wedged is holding it down on one side of the bucket. Am I using the tool wrong as this is my first time doing this. What led me to checking valve clearance was when I went to sync my carbs one of the carbs was giving me a reading between 1 and 3 lbs the 3 others were between 8 and 10. The gage shows possible low compression when between 0 and 5. So I am hoping the valve clearance needs adjustment and nothing more seriuos. All input on removing the valve shim and carb sync reading will be greatly appreciated. I was in the garage for an hour trying to get one shim out. First the wedge tool kept popping out, then once it was secured I could not get the shim out. Very frustated.:S

Thanks for your help.

Please Log in or Create an account to join the conversation.

More
08 Jul 2008 20:24 #225028 by Sandy
Replied by Sandy on topic Valve shim removal
Are you rotating the engine over,to get a cam-lobe to fully OPEN a valve,BEFORE trying to fit the tool into place?
That is how it's done.The tool is NOT intended to pry on the shim,to gain clearance.
Let us know how you're doing it,exactly...

1977 KZ1000 A-1

More
08 Jul 2008 21:36 #225051 by bountyhunter
Replied by bountyhunter on topic Valve shim removal
jbrewer73 wrote:

I have a 77' kz1000 that I am trying to do some valve adjustmnet on. I have the tool from Z1 and an assortment of shims. I tried to wedge the tool reccomended to hold the bucket while removing the shim. However I cannot get the shim out. Is it supposed to be a pain in the rump?