Clutch cable problems...please help!

• oKZygenetic
  • Topic Author
  • Visitor
02 Jul 2008 19:59 - 02 Jul 2008 20:01 #223629 by oKZygenetic
Clutch cable problems...please help! was created by oKZygenetic
Okay, so I had a buddy help me with this. I'm new to bike repair...

I have a 1982 KZ-750 H. My clutch cable was way worn so I bought a new one today. My friend said he knew what he was doing and began disassembling the sprocket cover. I wasn't able to see what he was doing and he couldn't remember how the cable went inside at the clutch...spring in front, spring in back...who knows? Oh well...I was just wondering if anyone has any pics of this.

My symptoms now...bike starts with clutch depressed in neutral but jumps if in 1st gear...what am I missing here?

Oh...btw...I've been a long time subscriber of this excellent forum but now it says only one post. My bike was dead for awhile and just got it cranked again! Now I'm back!

Thanks!!
Last edit: 02 Jul 2008 20:01 by oKZygenetic.

Please Log in or Create an account to join the conversation.

More
02 Jul 2008 21:28 #223661 by Sandy
Replied by Sandy on topic Clutch cable problems...please help!
The worm-gear was probably not set properly(aligned) before you bolted the cover back into place.
You might have to take it apart again,OR...you MIGHT be ok there,and just need to adjust the new cable.

The picture I have of an exploded view of your set-up doesn't really show where the spring goes,but it SHOULD go onto the cable after the cable has been routed through the case(engine cover) and ALSO through the worm-gear bracket(last).You then pop the cable end into the slot in the bracket,and put a cotter-pin in there to keep the cable end from popping back out.

1977 KZ1000 A-1

• oKZygenetic
  • Topic Author
  • Visitor
02 Jul 2008 23:15 #223673 by oKZygenetic
Replied by oKZygenetic on topic Clutch cable problems...please help!