Hey guys Im new and just bought a 1980 KZ750 LTD H1

More
02 Jul 2008 12:41 #223527 by twfields79
Ok well as the subject line says I just bought a KZ 750 LTD H1 I got a great deal on it I think..... I bought it for 500 it was running but not great..... I am new to motorcycles and have never road one, soo I am a newbie all the way around..... My father in law is a mechanic for GM and has worked on motors his whole life luckily the dude I bought it from had the service manual and the haynes manual and I am in the middle of rebuilding the top end of the motor..... It had a pretty bad clanky sound while running when I purchased it and oil leaks etc..... I have read many threads about this clanky sound and I before I knew anything about it adjusted the valve which by the way were in terrable shape...... cleaned the carbs replaced needle valves, and head cover gasket..... well I got it back together and same chit..... tested compression wet and dry which revealed some pretty shitty readings thats why I am rebuilding the motor, I am going ahead and replacing all the intake valves for they are pretty worn ( bike has 35000 miles on it) and two of the exhaust valves for they were bent..... I am replacing the piston rings, the cylindars to my surprise looked awsome which I was thanking my lucky stars for that..... Anyway my only question is I have heard the lower end of these motors are drong as an ox and I was just hoping to hear from you guys that what I have heard is true????? I really dont want to get into the lower end of it because it looks like a PIA and really I dont think anything is much wrong with it at this point..... SO do you all think that I will be okay to just leave it alone????? I believe the clanky sound is just from the motor running so shitty..... Anyway glad to find you guys I have been looking at the site for about qa month now and have learned quite a bit....... and if anyone knows of a place to get a new seat cover fairly cheap let me know..... I am al