first bike ever, 77 kz650

More
13 Jun 2008 09:42 #219801 by southside76
first bike ever, 77 kz650 was created by southside76
been wanting a bike since i was a little kid, now that im a 31 year old kid i finally got around to getting one.

bike does not run, so i need some tips on what i need to do in order to get ready to crank it up.

i used to be a mechanic (transmissions, front/rear differentials, transfer cases) but ive never worked on a motorcycle.

bike seems to be complete (missing any kind of air filter), and so far off the top of my head these are the things i think i need to do before i bother buying a new battery and trying to crank it.

dumping the gas tank and maybe sloshing around a little fresh gas in it , clean it out a bit maybe? new plugs, fresh oil, and i dont know jack about carbs but im sure they need some work, should i leave them alone and see if it will crank the way they are or should i pop them off and try to clean them a little without taking them apart?

sorry for all the dumb questions, any help is greatly appreciated, thanks in advance.

Houston, Texas
1977 kz650

Please Log in or Create an account to join the conversation.

More
13 Jun 2008 10:18 #219812 by JohNLA
Replied by JohNLA on topic first bike ever, 77 kz650
Sea Foam, has been recommended many times around here for a quick cleaning of internals without removing anything. Might be worth a try, before you tear into it.

s49.photobucket.com/albums/f255/JohNLA_photo/1983%20GPZ%20550/
83 GPZ 550 Stock with 3600 miles_83s.
83 GPZ 550 4-1,pods,Mikuni 36,000 + miles

More
13 Jun 2008 10:29 #219813 by anarki650
Replied by anarki650 on topic first bike ever, 77 kz650
Seafoam is a great dump in cleaner. Sometimes though there's no substitute for tearing the carbs down for a cleaning and rebuild. Last time I tried skipping that step I ended up with napalm shooting from my #3 carb...but that's another story.