cam chain idler gear and tensioner concerns

More
04 May 2008 23:07 #211224 by semper kz
so this 1978 that i just got is my first KZ ever. i've been riding motocross for years and wanted a new project and a summer commuter so i got my new toy. it is in excellent shape but i'm going through the motor. i pulled the head off and laid everything out. then i start reading the reassembly and see these little rubber dampers on the 2 cam chain idler gears. i looked at the front ones and they were there, but my back ones are missing, i looked up under the head also and they weren't in the little slots. :ohmy: they are either swept outside, in my garbarge, or there is a good chance they fell into the case. i know i'm a newbie at the kz thing and i'm learning as i go. now i'm wondering how much damage do you think they will do if they are in the case? they are 100% rubber so what could it really do? i'm not to interested in splitting my case for a piece of rubber. my thinking is that it will probably get chewed up and work it's way into the oil filter i hope. any other views on that? and also, is the cam chain tensioner, the rubber wheel, suposed to have any teeth on it or is it supposed to be smooth? oh and what would you recommend for valve clearance between the cam and the bucket? and what torque for the head bolts and valve cover bolts? i'll probably have 10 more questions tomorrow. thanks

1978 KZ 650 SR

Please Log in or Create an account to join the conversation.

More
05 May 2008 03:18 #211253 by Samwell
Replied by Samwell on topic cam chain idler gear and tensioner concerns
semper kz wrote: