Compression issues

More
10 Apr 2008 16:24 #205526 by telefunkin
Compression issues was created by telefunkin
Hey guys, I'm looking for some insight on a problem I'm having with compression. I don't have a compression tester so I don't know what the exact reading is, but I tried the old thumb test and there isn't much. Here's what happened. This is my second bike, it's an 81 KZ 750 Ltd, and it's my first time working on any. I tore down the top end over the winter to replace the gaskets. I ended up installing the camshaft chain in the wrong position and ended up slamming the exhaust valves into the pistons. They ended up with slight bends so I've replaced all of them. Now that it's back together I'm stuck with this compression issue. At first it was very bad. When I turned the engine over you could from the sound that air was flowing straight trough the cylinders and the fuel was igniting in the mufflers. I ended up pulling out the valve shims and installing the smallest size on all of them and now there is a little more compression and it does not sound like air is flowing through any more. I'm guessing that the valve guides have shifted up and i'll need to replace them. Hopefully someone here has a better idea as I'm at a standstill right now.

Thanks

Please Log in or Create an account to join the conversation.

More
10 Apr 2008 16:44 - 10 Apr 2008 16:46 #205529 by bountyhunter
Replied by bountyhunter on topic Compression issues
Judging by the fact that you need to heat the head severely and use small nuclear devices to get the valve guides out, I seriously doubt they "shifted" from the valve being bumped by the piston. Could be wrong.....