Username: Password: Remember me
  • Page:

TOPIC:

Compression 29 Jan 2006 17:16 #20428

• KevZ
  • KevZ's Avatar Topic Author
  • User
  • Thank you received: 0
This is similar to Maverick's thread, but I didn't want to hijack it. I checked the compression today, and I got the following readings: #1 132 PSI #2 108 PSI #3 99 PSI #4 120 PSI. I squirted oil into the #2 and #3 spark plug wells and got the follwing readings: #2 150 PSI #3 110 PSI.

I did not hold the throttle wide open while checking any of the cylinders - should I re-do the test? I am assuming that I have some sort of valve issue on #2, and a piston ring issue on #3. I plan on tearing down the engine and checking everything. Should I go ahead and replace all piston rings, or is it okay to replace just one set?

I have never done anything like this before, so I will probably be doing a lot of searching and posting.

Thanks in advance for all replies.

Please Log in or Create an account to join the conversation.

Compression 29 Jan 2006 17:57 #20430

• KZQ
  • Administrator
  • Walking Behind the Corn May Not Be All That!
  • Thank you received: 1278
Kev,
Yes, you should redo the test with the throttle wide open. Are you trying to test the engine warm? The engine should be as close to operating temp as possible.

As for the rings you should do them as a set, if only because you're there and should get it done. By "as a set" I mean all the pistons.

Good Luck
Bill

Post edited by: KZCSI, at: 2006/01/29 20:59
www.KZ1300.com
Riders:
1968 BSA 441 Shooting Star, 1970 BSA 650 Lightning, 1974 W3, 1976 KZ900, 1979 KZ750 Twin, 1979 KZ750 Twin Trike, 1981 KZ1300, 1982 KZ1100 Spectre, 2000 Valkyrie, 2009 Yamaha Roadliner S. 1983 GL 1100
Projects:
1985 ZN1300

Compression 29 Jan 2006 18:42 #20437

• wireman
  • Visitor