Z1 Oil breather advice

More
27 Dec 2007 10:50 #186564 by cplescia
Z1 Oil breather advice was created by cplescia
Hello to all,

I currently have a 1974 Z1 in my 1974 Legrand D Sports Racer (SCCA vintage car). I recently went through a top end rebuild that included pistons and rings as well as honing the barrels. After an open test session at Thunderhill raceway in Northern California last Sunday, I have a problem; the motor is dumping large amounts of oil from the breather. This only manifested itself after driving on-track. No problem in the shop running the engine with the car stationary.

One of my friends (and old Kawi builder) said that it could be a couple of things.

1. Rings need to seat: It could be that I am getting blow-by into the crankcase thus pressuring and blowing the oil out. Cure? Run the engine until they seat or if they don't seat, re-do the pistons/rings.

2. Reduce the velocity from the breather: I have a 90 degree fitting into a tube that goes from the breather outlet into burp bottle at the back of the car. He suggested that I increase the diameter of the tube (and fitting) to reduce the velocity.

3. Overfill of oil: I am running a cooler at the front of the car and a modified pan that has a cylindrical cup attached to the bottom with a tube that scavenges from the pump (kind of a cheater sump). It is entirely possible that I did overfill, however once I had lost probably a quart to a qt and a half, my idiot oil pressure light started to flicker. After adding a quart, it went dark so I feel I am pretty close to the right level.

I would be interested in hearing anyone's thoughts/advice regarding this.

Have you experienced this after rebuild?
Thoughts on breather tube diameter increase reducing velocity?

I apologize for the rather lengthy post but hope some fellow KZ folks might have some thoughs/advice.

Please Log in or Create an account to join the conversation.

More
27 Dec 2007 11:11 #186568 by wiredgeorge