replacing engine... what do I need?

More
25 Oct 2007 16:38 #178120 by terps19
replacing engine... what do I need? was created by terps19
I am going to replace an engine that has 77k on a 1981 kz750 with another that has less than 9k (Gotta love winter projects). I am wondering what I need to do this... gasket, seal etc wise?

I am assuming that I will go into the valves and adjust them as well as clean out the carbs. So I will need a new head cover gasket? should I buy 4 new carb rebuild sets? What about exhaust gaskets?

This is my first time working with a Kaw and I dont like the Haynes manual for this model. Should I invest in a Kawasaki factory manual? I see some online but they are a bit pricey.

This is a great site by the way.

Thanks!!!!!!!!!!:laugh:

Please Log in or Create an account to join the conversation.

More
25 Oct 2007 16:53 #178124 by fixer5000
Replied by fixer5000 on topic replacing engine... what do I need?
i would buy the factory manuals. they are invaluable for these bikes and not that exspensive to buy. yep id adjust valves or at least check the clearances, replace top cover gasket and why not rebuild the carbs too? easy doings for winter boredom round here. lots of good advice to be had on this site too just ask...steve

1978 kz650b pretty much stock
\\\\\\\" get there fast but arrive alive \\\\\\\"
massachusetts
The following user(s) said Thank You: GPz550D1

More
25 Oct 2007 19:57 #178157 by The Milkman
Replied by The Milkman on topic replacing engine... what do I need?
If your old engine was running well, why not just swap the carbs to the new engine then rebuild the ones off the new engine in your leisure. If you are sure the engine only has 9k on it,, do a compression and leak down test to check the rings and valves, if it shows good, do valve adjustment check to be sure they are ok. And replace the valve cover gasket. Get new exhaust rings and it seems you would be good to go.
Ride safe