Cam tensioner - I know I'm a grown man..

More
18 Sep 2007 16:34 #171401 by pyxen
..but right now I feel like crying. I'm relatively new to this whole motorcycle wrenching thing. I've recently just finished changing the rings on my pistons, lapping the valves and doing all of the clearances. It's looking really good! I was buttoning it all up earlier, and my cam tensioner broke! The threads sheared off when I was torquing it down.. I'm soooooo pissed right now.

I spent my saturday driving to Marion to pick up my parts from Jeff (4hrs there, 4hrs back), and spent all Sunday working on my engine. I managed to finish it last night, and get it started, but it had that clacking noise that had been described here before. I reopened it this afternoon and adjusted some of the clearances..they look perfect now, and just as I'm putting it back together to try starting it again, the tensioner breaks.

"Frustrated" is definitely not going to do my mood justice right now..

So - my question is whether or not the APE KT1100 tensioner will work for my 550? I know travis asked before about his 550, but it isn't clear if it will work. It *is* listed on the Z1E page for my bike, but is that for sure? Should I instead try and get a replacement OEM automatic adjuster? I can get the body from Ron Ayers for $21 + shipping, which is really all I need..but the manual ones, from what I've heard, are better.

What kind of maintenance intervals would I be looking at with a manual one? If it's noisy, adjust it?

Thanks.

84 KZ550-F2 LTD
93 ZR550-B4

Please Log in or Create an account to join the conversation.

• Skyman
  • User
  • 1978 KZ1000-B2 LTD 1982 KZ1000-M2 CSR
More
18 Sep 2007 16:44 #171403 by Skyman
Replied by Skyman on topic Cam tensioner - I know I'm a grown man..
You mean the threads on the tensioner, not on your cylinder block, right?