Bad fuel or timing prob?

More
13 Sep 2007 06:04 #170325 by adri4n
Bad fuel or timing prob? was created by adri4n
I need some help and advice from the members here...

I was out on a ride and everything was fine on the bike, i stopped for some fuel and i started realising I was losing some power, not an awful lot, but there was some. I thought it would normalise after the carbs got more fuel running through them, but its still going on after i reached home. Whats happening is theres a short of 'popping' noise, especially when i hit 5k+ rpms. I've had this happen to me before and it was a timing problem, and I kinda suspect thats what is happening, but since I've never had bad fuel before I was wondering what happens when you get bad fuel? And since I'm a noob at this, what are the sort of problems you get with bad fuel and timing? what signs are indicative that its a timing problem?

I've checked a few things so far, its rather late and I haven't had a good look at it, but I've checked the fuel line and fuel is flowing out steadily and so that rules out blockage I suppose, theres spark on all 4 plugs, and they all look good, thats all I've had a chance to fiddle with so far, Just need some input and advice for me. Please bear with me as I'm not really that mechanically minded. Thanks

Please Log in or Create an account to join the conversation.

More
13 Sep 2007 06:27 #170331 by tjettim
Replied by tjettim on topic Bad fuel or timing prob?
I have had bad fuel several times.Drain your
float bowls into a small cup (no styrofoam),
and look for contaminates.Water will be small
globules at the bottom.Small specks of rust
will look black.If you find some of either,
you will have to turn the petckock to on and
keep draining untill it clears up.The symtoms
are usualy very similar to what you described.

• mark1122
  • User
  • Keep twisting it
More
13 Sep 2007 07:22 #170334 by mark1122
Replied by mark1122 on topic Bad fuel or timing prob?