Transmission Clunks

More
01 Sep 2007 11:26 #167756 by Norseman
Transmission Clunks was created by Norseman
Hi, folks. I am in the valley of decision here, and could use some advice. My transmission clunks really bad when shifting, it sometimes misses between third and fourth unless I shift hard with my foot, but the biggest problem is that the bikes clunks/jerks during acceleration.

I have gone through all electrical and everything checks out. The bike runs great and smooth, coil output checks out, clutches great, etc.

I can really feel the clunking between my footpegs. So I am assuming my transmission needs to be re-built.

I'm just learning how to work on my own bike, and I'm really hesitant to dive into a transmission. Is this something best left to a mechanic experienced in vintage bikes? How difficult is it for a novice, but mechanically inclined?

Finally, if it is the transmission, considering my symptoms, what could I expect? Gears chewed up, or just adjustments?

I'm pretty troubled by this, and could use some directions.

Please Log in or Create an account to join the conversation.

More
01 Sep 2007 15:07 #167790 by The Milkman
Replied by The Milkman on topic Transmission Clunks
Have you checked the play in the drive chain and the condition of both sprockets??

78 650-C2, Stock engine, Jardine 4-2 Exh., 17-38 sprockets, dyna ignition and coils, coil wiring mod, carb mod.

More
01 Sep 2007 15:17 #167792 by Patton
Replied by Patton on topic Transmission Clunks
Am also thinking drive chain.

Might be kinking. Can usually determine by just examining and manipulating the chain by hand.
Kinked chain may also feel hot after a run.

Lubing the chain might help, but may need replacing. :)

1973 Z1
KZ900 LTD

More
01 Sep 2007 20:06 #167865 by chunkyone
Replied by chunkyone on topic Transmission Clunks